Skater of the Year Awards

Up to the 2008-09 season, the Kestrel Cup and Peregrine Cup Skater of the Year awards were given to the female and male Milton Speed Skaters who achieved the greatest reduction of their 500m personal best time over the course of a season. In 2009-10, this was changed to include 333m and 500m times. Recognition of improvement in speed was broadened however in 2010-11 to include a greater number of skaters through the Sub-Club Awards program (see below). Since 2010-11, the Kestrel Cup and Peregrine Cup have been awarded to the female skater and male skater, respectively, who best displays adherence to the principles of True Sport, namely:


  • Go for it
  • Play Fair.
  • Respect others
  • Keep it fun
  • Stay healthy
  • Include everyone
  • Give back.


The names of the awards are in homage of wildlife in the Milton area that exhibit strategies and traits of a speed skater. The Kestrel is known for its unique hunting style in which it is known to hover above the ground before dropping on its prey. The Peregrine Falcon is known as the fastest bird on the planet with dive speeds in excess of 320 km/h while hunting. Like the Kestrel a speed skater hovers in the pack of a race before striking for the win, and like the Peregrine a speed skater’s goal is to be the fastest.

The Kestrel Cup and Peregrine Cup was first awarded in 2007, the third season of the Milton Speed Skating.

Todd Landon who started Milton Speed Skating in 2004 donated the awards in 2007.



milton speedskating female skater of the yearKestrel Cup – Female Skater of the Year

  • 2006/2007 Kattie Laur
  • 2007/2008 Abigal MacEachern
  • 2008/2009 Kelsey Carr
  • 2009/2010 Allana Zettler
  • 2010/2011 Samantha Bogle
  • 2011/2012 Sarah Buchanan
  • 2012/2013 Arielle Howell
  • 2013/2014 Emma McKinnon
  • 2014/2015 Sierra Johnson
  • 2015/2016 Emily Wood
  • 2016/2017 Emily Wood
  • 2017/2018 Dorota Ulman



milton speedskating male skater of the yearPeregrine Cup – Male Skater of the Year

  • 2006/2007 Matt Kerwin
  • 2007/2008 Sam MacEachern
  • 2008/2009 Matthew Bogle
  • 2009/2010 Nathan Kim
  • 2010/2011 Matthew Bogle
  • 2011/2012 Stephen Andersen
  • 2012/2013 Cory Kuhar
  • 2013/2014 Matthew Laxton
  • 2014/2015 Matthew Laxton
  • 2015/2016 Cory Kuhar
  • 2016/2017 Raphael Howell
  • 2017/2018 Jackson Tomlinson



Club Calendar

Join Us on Facebook